Guidelines for Integrated Production

Structure and Members

The Commission consists of 5 members, experts in IP and IPM involved in research, practice and policy. The commission works closely together with the crop specific IOBC-WPRS Working Groups.


Corresponding Members

Former Convenors

  • F. Wijnands (2014-2019)
  • C. Malavolta (2009-2013)
  • J. Avilla (2002-2008)
  • E.F. Boller (1996-2001)
  • A. El Titi (1991 – 1995)


The Commission regularly updates IP guidelines (General Technical & Crop Specific Guidelines for Integrated Production) in close collaboration with the WPRS working groups or ad hoc expert panels convened by the Commission. The Commission also benchmarks IP guidelines or similar efforts on request of relevant organisations.


All publications and information relevant to Integrated Production are available in the section IP Tools.
The concepts, principles and general technical guidelines for Integrated Production were first published in 1993 in the major languages of the WPRS region and were updated in 1999 and 2004. They serve as a basic document as to concepts and standards. Both “IP principles and general technical guidelines for Integrated Production” and “IP Crop specific guidelines” have been updated and published in 2017. In recent years, the Commission provided EU organisations and NGOs with technical expertise on IP concepts and their practical implementation.


The history of Integrated Production in Europe and of the Commission’s activities has been described in the IOBC-WPRS publication Integrated Production in Europe: 20 years after the declaration of Ovrannaz. The Commission can look back on a tradition and leadership in Integrated Production starting in 1976 by the Declaration of Ovrannaz. In 1977 the General Assembly of IOBC-WPRS decided to establish the “Commission pour la Valorisation de la Production Intégrée” with M. Baggiolini (Switzerland) as first president. IOBC established in 1978 a second unit (“Comité international pour la valorisation des productions intégrées”) that handled under the direction of J. Thiault (France) the first IOBC endorsements that led to recognition of 2 fruit growers’ organisations (GALTI in Switzerland and COVAPI in France) in the late 1970s. The Commission continued its activities especially in the field of pome fruit production until 1987 with the following presidents: J.P. Bassino (France) 1981-1984 and A. Stäubli (Switzerland) 1984-1987. The Commission was re-activated by IOBC in 1990 as “Commission on IP-Guidelines and Endorsement” with a new mandate (see objectives) and was chaired by A. El Titi (1991 – 1995), E.F. Boller (1996-2001), J. Avilla (2002-2008), C. Malavolta (2009-2013), F. Wijnands (2014-2019) and C. Malavolta (since 2019). Four growers IP-associations were endorsed in the past and one in USA sice 2001 is still endorsed. At present the Commission have the mandate of benchmark regional or national IP Gls and not the entire IP system or the organisation applying for benchmark.


The IOBC-WPRS Commission “IP Guidelines” benchmarks IP guidelines, on request, leading to advices for adaptation. When the guidelines sufficiently comply with the IP guidelines (both general and crop specific) IOBC-WPRS permits to use of the declaration “Produced under IOBC-WPRS IP endorsed guidelines” or to simply state the IP guidelines are endorsed by IOBC-WPRS or equivalent sentences. IOBC-WPRS does not endorse nor certify individual farmers practicing IP, but their organizations.

Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner